Greetings Conference Attendees:

Welcome to Tampa and the 2019 Florida Redevelopment Association Annual Conference! On behalf of the Florida Redevelopment Association Board of Directors, I am honored and delighted to welcome you to our 36th annual conference. The Florida Redevelopment Association has always been the premier organization for redevelopment specialists in Florida, and the 2019 Conference continues that tradition.

To all our sponsors and exhibitors, for your involvement and support – our sincere thanks! Whether you come from a large or small district, there is something for everyone. Also sincere thanks to our own Carol Westmoreland and Jan Piland, who have worked tirelessly to make the conference a success.

I know you will enjoy this year’s program filled with informative sessions, networking, professional development opportunities and illuminating tours of redevelopment projects. Tampa’s redevelopment offers transferrable aspects for a program of any size. We encourage you to learn about the area as much as you can.

These year’s award entries show that significant private and public investments continue tobe made every day in Florida’s big and small communities. Specifically, these investments are focused within CRAs, where job creation is occurring, quality of place is defined, and civic and cultural activity is celebrated.

Congratulations to all who submitted projects. May we all learn from their experience to transform our communities.

Gail Hamilton
2018-19 FRA President

Continuing Education Credits

International Economic Development Council

This event is recognized by the International Economic Development Council (IEDC) as a professional development event that counts toward the recertification of Certified Economic Developers (CEcD).

American Institute of Certified Planners

AICP members can earn Certification Maintenance (CM) credits for many activities at this event. When CM credits are available, they are
noted at the end of an activity description. More information about AICP’s CM program can be found at

Florida Bar
This event has been accredited for Continuing Legal Education by the Florida Bar for:
28 General CLE Credits
21 Business Litigation
28 Government Law
28 Real Estate
28 Government and Administrative Practice
Certification Credits

Note: the course number and credits for Friday sessions are listed below those sessions.

FRA 2018-2019 Board of Directors

Gail Hamilton
CRA Director, City of Zephyrhills

Brenna Durden
Shareholder, Lewis, Longman & Walker, P.A.

Toni Shamplain, FRA-RA
Downtown North CRA Manager, City of Panama City

Jeff Burton, FRA-RA
Director, CRA, City of Palmetto

Peter Altman
Councilmember, City of New Port Richey
Hazelle Rogers
Mayor, City of Lauderdale Lakes


Lynn Dehlinger

Senior Economic Development Manager/Broker Associate,


Kyle Dudgeon, FRA-RA

CRA Manager, City of Winter Park

Bob Ironsmith

CRA Director, City of Dunedin

Renee Jadusingh, FRA-RA

Executive Director, Delray Beach CRA

Evan Johnson, AICP, LEED AP

Business Development Manager, Pinellas County

John Jones, FRA-RP


Kelley Klepper

Senior Planner/Project Manager, Kimley-Horn and

Associates, Inc.

Elizee Michel, AICP, FRA-RA

Executive Director, Westgate Belvedere Homes CRA

Tony Otte, CEcD, FRA-RA

CRA/Economic Development Director, New Smyrna Beach CRA

Adam Rossmell

Burkhardt Construction, Inc.

Mike Simon, FRA-RA

Executive Director, Boynton Beach CRA

Ken Thomas

Director, Housing & Redevelopment, City of Leesburg

Brenda Thrower, FRA-RA

Economic Development Specialist, City of Tampa, Ybor City Development Corp.



Clifford B. Shepard

Shepard, Smith, & Cassady, P.A.

FRA Past Presidents

1977    William S. Turnbull

1980    Marilyn Larson

1981    W. Thomas Mills, Jr.

1982    Roy F. Kenzie

1983    R. Lee Menzies

1984    Thomas R. Kohler

1985    John F. Habgood

1986    William Farkas

1987    Lance S. Clarke

1988    Peter Andolina

1989    Gerald S. Langston, Jr.

1991    Joyce Sellen

1992    Gail Collins

1993    Andy Ham

1994    Julie Scofield

1995    Ronali Wood

1996    Gary Wohlforth

1997    Jennifer Fleming

1998    Suzanne Kuehn

1999    Paul Thorpe

2001    Dennis Russ

2002    Chris Brown

2004    Terrell N. Fritz

2005    Gail Hamilton

2006    Jeffrey L. Oris

2007    Kim Briesemeister

2008    J. Gary Rogers

2009    Rochelle Lawandales

2010    Kurt Easton

2011    Marc Mondell

2012    Steven G. Lindorff

2013    Jeremy Earle

2014    Gus Gianikas

2015    Diane Colonna

2016    Michael Parker

2017   Brenna Durden

2018   Gail Hamilton